This is the fifteenth century was built the castle of which only the remains of the entrance: The portal , flukes and a small tower . The tower is covered in chestnut shingles . After belonging to different lords Eguzon and to private owners , the City of Eguzon has made the acquisition in 2000 in order to install the City Hall and the Museum of the Valley of the Creuse which itself is in the old stables of the castle.
Only the gate, which dates from the twelfth century, reflects the ancient castle that was destroyed in 1650 at the time of the Fronde. He fell into oblivion until 1750 when we rebuilt on the ruins of a ” new castle “: this is the eighteenth century mansion , which now serves as art gallery , which can be visited today.
Tel : 02 54 47 76 16
This private castle is included in the Inventory of Historical Monuments since 1926. George Sand wrote in the quote : ” From the top of this dungeon , you discover the most beautiful panorama of France .” It was founded between 1180 and 1208 by Hugh de Lusignan . Built on a rocky spur, the fortress defending the only access ford ( present site of the Pont des Piles ) between Crozant and Gargilesse . It was part of the defense line of the Province of the Marche which separated the lands of the language of Oil and the Langue d’Oc . Now restored , the castle of Chateaubrun presents a collection of works of the potter , sculptor and owner Guy Baudat . These monumental sculptures found in this historic setting, a wonderful showcase that highlights them , highlights their strength and message. Guided tours organized during the summer by the Office of Tourism Eguzon , and open during Heritage Days.
Castle Bonnu (closed to visitors) is a small gem that stands in the middle of a typical village . Built between the XII and XIV century , it was rebuilt in the seventeenth century. Castle Bonnu is moated , turreted and covered with a so-called mansard roof . Originally Bonnu was a signal tower that served as a bridge between the fortresses of the area . The building was restored in the twentieth century, the regrooved ditches and refilled with water . The fortress now has a less severe look.
Ruins of Crozant castle
The rocky promontory shaped vessel, which was built the fortress of Crozant is known men from the earliest times. Located at the confluence of rivers and surrounded by hills once the short vegetation, it was an exceptional defensive site, easy to protect. This fortress, built around the thirteenth century, completely occupied the rocky outcrop. The vast area, bounded by walls (about 1 Km), was divided into 3 classes protected by 10 towers of different forms and eras. The Wars of Religion, abandoned by its owners and an earthquake in 1606 gave it its current state. Long abandoned, the site of the old fortress has recently become property of the municipality with the help of the General Council of the Creuse and major efforts are made to maintain and enhance this major site. Opening : school holidays, all areas – From 1 April to 10 May: every day from 14h to 18h – From 1 July to 31 August: every day from 10am to 12.30pm and from 14h30 to 19h – From 17 October to 1 November: every day from 14h to 18h Outside school holidays – From 13 to 30 June and from 1 to 20 September: daily from 14h to 19h – From 11 May to 12 June: Saturday, Sunday, holidays and bridges, from 14h to 18h – From 21 September to 16 October: Saturday, Sunday, holidays and bridges, from 14h to 18h
05 55 89 09 05
05 55 89 80 12
Prune au Pot castle
This castle of the thirteenth century is named after the family who owned Pot until 1484. With no real military purpose, its role was to advantage of being the operations center of the surrounding land assets. This building would have allowed Henry IV for three days during the religious wars and the siege of Argenton in 1589. The Tour de la Fontaine takes its name from the source it supports. A legend tells formerly the village girls were asking the Lord permission to come admire them in order to discover the face of their promise in the reflections of the water…